Chelsea Buns

Having been pestered by my son to make these (he asked me once!) I succumbed to his plea and rustled these together. I used the same recipe that I used for my Christmas buns but added 50g more sugar as it was a sweet bread. I also sprinkled 4 tsp of ground cinnamon into the flour before adding the wet stuff.

Another small twist (just because it was there) that I added was the apple sauce – from a jar (100g).

Chelsea Buns - 01

Proofing for about 2 hours – if you use cold water.
Chelsea Buns - 04 Roll out to about 1cm thick rectangleChelsea Buns - 06 Then the improvised apple (helped to keep them moist)Chelsea Buns - 07 Raisins / sultanas and more cinnamon (you could add a sprinkle of caster sugar as well if you wanted extra sweet.Chelsea Buns - 08Lift, gently tug and roll towards youChelsea Buns - 09 Ready to be cut into 5cm roundsChelsea Buns - 10 Put into greased deep dish tinsChelsea Buns - 11 Allow to rise for another hour or so (double in size)Chelsea Buns - 13 Bake at 190 deg C for 15 minutes or until golden and ready.

Then brush with honey, syrup or sugar & water glaze. I think I used maple syrup on these as I had some left over from pancake day.Chelsea Buns - 16 They didn’t last long…Chelsea Buns - 18

3 thoughts on “Chelsea Buns

Leave a Reply

