Dead oven

This is going to be a short entry. Friday evening, after a long day at work, I start roasting my marinated BBQ chicken. It’s been raining for 3 weeks so the outdoor BBQ is a no go area. I’m getting excited as I have put a lot of love into the marinade. 

  • Peri peri ketchup, 
  • honey, 
  • worcestershire, 
  • garlic, 
  • nutmeg, 
  • mango hot sauce,
  • lemon juice
  • Pimento (all spice)
  • Sugar
  • Salt & pepper

15 minutes in I’m prepping the rice when hear a deep ‘phut’ sound closely followed by an electrical burning smell. The kettle has not long boiled so I check it to see if it has fused. I couldn’t figure it out so went and watched a bit more tennis. On returning to the chicken to check on  the rice I hear 3 loud electrical thuds. I check the fuse box and note that it has tripped.

Upside is that I am now shopping for a new cooker and a smeg is under close inspection. I will post a photo with a replacement oven soon I hope. :0) Enjoy the christmas cake as a consolation :0)Image

3 thoughts on “Dead oven

    • Thanks Ger. I ended up slow cooking the chicken in a heavy based skillet. It was still tasty and the kids ate it all up so no drama really. New oven arrives tomorrow. Yay!

Leave a comment