Strawberry Pavlova

Some good friends, who live abroad but are in town, announced that they could pop over for a catch up. I had suggested that I might make them some fresh pizza with a few glasses of Spanish Rioja. I decided, at 8am, that I would make a pavlova to round off the meal. That meant that I had to somehow teleport home at lunch time and throw one in the oven to bake slowly for a couple of hours to ensure it was cool in time.

This is the mixing as it happened (yes I did have the presence of mind to take pictures in the 30 minute window available to me). Stiff peaks before adding the sugar.

Adding the sugar 3 spoons at a time.

After about 10 minutes the incorporated sugar and egg white should look glossy and stiff comme ca.

Stiff and glossy

Then fold in the other ingredients, which if you have never made a pavlova before may seem a little alien to a desert recipe. Vinegar? Salt? Cornflour?

Adding the gooey magic

Then spread out to your desired shape onto some baking parchment.

 

I tend to make it into a disc shape for easiness but I am sure that the more creative amongst you could pipe and sculpt it into a hedgehog, dinosaur, poodle or polar bear. I only had a lunch break remember. :0)

When I returned from work it was nice and cool and ready to be topped.

Crunchy and gooey all at the same time

I know that strawberries are not the most exciting topping choice but they were very juicy, plump and aromatic. I lay them on a bed of just whipped double (heavy) cream.

Top of the pops

I think they liked it!

Seconds anyone?

You will need:

  • 4 large egg whites
  • 8 oz caster sugar
  • 4 tsp cornflour
  • 2 tsp white wine vinegar
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • A pinch of salt
  • 1 pint double cream
  • Seasonal berries

Whisk egg whites to stiff peaks and then gradually add the sugar until all incorporated and glossy. Fold in cornflour, salt, vinegar and vanilla. Bake “slow & low” (130 deg c) for a couple of hours and allow to cool in the oven (if you can, overnight). Simple yet quite impressive. Enjoy.

3 thoughts on “Strawberry Pavlova

Leave a Reply

