Rock buns

Grandma Harris’ recipe

I don’t usually have this much time to bake and blog however we are on a mid term break so I have a bit of time. Today the occasion is an impromptu visit from my sister and her two little ones. As a result I have been in the kitchen early this morning putting together a few belly banging treats for everyone. My son is also expecting a good friend who moved to Kansas 3 years ago over for the day.

Sybil’s finest

These rock buns come from a recipe that I scribbled down one day (moons ago) when I had the privilege of standing over my Grandma’s shoulder while she effortlessly threw them together for tea one day. To this day it is one my most cherished kitchen memories as she was both an exceptional baker and second mother to me while I was away at boarding school. Sorely missed Sybil :’0(.

This makes about 16 nuggets of sheer nostalgic joy.

  • 8 oz self raising flour
  • 5 oz butter / marg
  • 5 oz sugar (I used caster)
  • 6 oz dried mixed fruit
  • 2 tsp mixed spice
  • 1 egg to bind
  • Demerara sugar to top (optional)

Sift flour and spice into bowl then rub in the butter to large crumb consistency. Stir in sugar and fruit then bind together with the egg. It may need a splash of milk depending on the size of your egg. The dough should not be too sticky and leave the bowl cleanly. Spoon t-spoon sized blobs onto a greased baking sheet and top with a pinch of demerara  and bake at 200 c / 400 f for 10 -12 mins. Allow to cool – if you can resist :0)

I had to have this one

3 thoughts on “Rock buns

  1. You are very very welcome mydear. I am sure my Grandmother would approve of my disseminating her simple genius.

  2. Pingback: Melissa’s Rock Buns | Stew Peas 'n Rice

Leave a Reply

